How to get over a funk

7 May

Coming back from a two month holiday (which I was certainly ready for) also meant coming back to reality.  Which was no job and a seriously diminished bank account.  Add to that the questioning of what the hell I want to do with my life, which you would think at the ripe ol’ age of 28 and too many years of study I would have a better idea.  Also with my final Master’s course only in another week I have been spending all day at home by myself.  You know how women supposedly have so many more words than men that they say I day?  I am sure there is some sort of psychological impact when there are sustained periods of not using them all.  So finally this weekend I just turned into the grinch and was in a foul mood.  Not a nice place to be hanging out.

So what did I do to get “over the funk”?

Step 1. I might have an advantage here of having somebody who loves me even when I am a nasty cow.  He bought me flowers.

Step 2. Take advice from friends.  The Housemate suggested finding some inspirational people online, a good Ted talk maybe?

Step 3. Find that inspirational person while browsing for gelato.  I have been watching Marie Forleo for the last day and not only does she have some good business advice but is funny and motivational for just normal life stuff.

Step 4. Go for a jog because the sun finally showed its face after what feels like a month.  Exercise and vitamin D!

Step 5. Use a variety of left over hair dye to cover the roots that are showing (not exactly the colour I want but at least I look like I care).  A little bit of make-up.  Maybe paint your nails.

Step 6. See the light at the end of the tunnel.

Step 7. Go for a nice outing – perhaps a scone at the Orangery Restaurant at Kensington Palace?

Step 8. Laugh.  Bean’s appearances on Sarah’s blog always crack me up.

Well that is what I did this time.

What are some of your solutions?

9 Responses to “How to get over a funk”

  1. Serena 7 May 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Oh man, I don’t really have any practical solutions, as when I’m in a funk I generally pour myself a very large glass of wine and just hope that tomorrow will be better. Not the best advice, I’m sure 🙂

    Also? “Add to that the questioning of what the hell I want to do with my life, which you would think at the ripe ol’ age of 28 and too many years of study I would have a better idea.” I got my Master’s last May, I’m 29, and I’m still wondering the EXACT SAME THING. I thought I’d have figured it out by now, but no. Not at all. Not even close.

  2. Joana Gomes (@joanabcggomes) 7 May 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    I love the flowers and I’m sorry about the “funk”. I usually do a lot of research in an attempt to try to find a way to get out of the “funk”, especially when said funk is caused by a problem I’ve identified. I’m a great fan of making lists (to organise my thoughts) and trying to see things from a more positive perspective (because nothing’s ever as bad as it seems).

    I know you’ll get through this, I believe in you!

    – Joana

    http://www.growinfashion.com

    (It helps to see funny little things like Bean “trying to cook”!)

  3. incidentallearner 8 May 2012 at 2:06 am #

    I am so interested in hearing about the vacation! Your images are fantastic!

  4. sarah j 8 May 2012 at 2:52 am #

    post holidays blues are the worst! i have to admit, i tend to wallow in it for a few days before realising it’s pointless. I find the best solution is researching your next trip, always does the trick for me!
    scones at kensington palace sound like a lovely option too 🙂

  5. Zoë (Convo_Pieces) (@Convo_Pieces) 9 May 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Well considering beer was the answer to my recent funk… hmmm, the other thing was time. (Oh and a day trip somewhere… and the other half having a job interview… things that kind of got me into action!) Hope you’re feeling better now x

  6. The Girl 9 May 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Interesting timing with this post for me. I am now on Day 2 of being officially unemployed and living in a different city where I don’t know anyone and it has shocked me how quickly I can feel the decline setting in.

    One thing I have made myself do is get up and get dressed. Small thing but I know that lazing round in my pjs or lounge pants all day is not going to be good for my mental health.

    I also need to get up and go outside but I’m an idiot with a fondness for high heels and drink and I’m currently sporting crutches and an ankle that looks like it belongs to the elephant man. (Although it’s a lovely shade of purple.)

    I’m also making myself a list of things to achieve for the day. Even if it’s not job search related, I have to achieve something each day.

  7. heyjodesign 10 May 2012 at 10:34 am #

    This is a tricky one, and rather unhelpfully I don’t know if I have any useful advice. All I can say is that you are not alone and that I go through times like these sometimes (read: a lot!) and when I do I realise I have two choices. The first is to keep doing what I’m doing and hide away, and the second is to acknowledge the fact things are difficult and choose to drag myself out of it – how I do that is to remind myself that only I can make things happen for myself. I guess I try to use self motivation… And in regards to the being 28 and not knowing what you want to do with your life, please don’t worry. I am nearly 31 and only just figured it out – and I don’t think I even have entirely, I change my mind all the time. But I don’t mind. Who says you can only do one thing or only have one career in life? As we grow older and inevitably change in life, our ideas of what we want to do for a career/job might change too. I think that’s pretty cool. Try to think positive if you can!

  8. Jo 10 May 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Agh, I just left the longest comment and not sure if it posted? my computer went strange! Here’s what I said: This is a tricky one, and rather unhelpfully I don’t know if I have any useful advice. All I can say is that you are not alone and that I go through times like these sometimes (read: a lot!) and when I do I realise I have two choices. The first is to keep doing what I’m doing and hide away, and the second is to acknowledge the fact things are difficult and choose to drag myself out of it – how I do that is to remind myself that only I can make things happen for myself. I guess I try to use self motivation… And in regards to the being 28 and not knowing what you want to do with your life, please don’t worry. I am nearly 31 and only just figured it out – and I don’t think I even have entirely, I change my mind all the time. But I don’t mind. Who says you can only do one thing or only have one career in life? As we grow older and inevitably change in life, our ideas of what we want to do for a career/job might change too. I think that’s pretty cool. Try to think positive if you can!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Busy Busy « i ripple. i dance - 10 May 2012

    […] Thanks for all the comments on my last post.  I was already out the funk when I wrote it but thanks for all the advice and sharing. Share […]

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

