Vegan June anyone?

20 May

My eating in the past month has been proper shocking.  Scrap that since I went away in February.  I generally eat pretty healthy meals but snack terribly on biscuits and chocolate.

In an attempt to get back to a healthier me and to try and reduce my diary consumption (the impacts of it on the planet are pretty bad) I thought I would try a month of living vegan.  At the same time I thought I would also try and go back to a sugar light way of living.  As I won’t be able to eat a lot of the normal store bought junk of chocolate and biscuits with trying vegan I figure it might be easier to bring the two together.

I am going to be consulting with a couple of food blogs:

  • Scandi Food (who has recently turned vegan herself and was the inspiration for my earlier sugar free ways)
  • A First Mess

Too be honest I don’t think I would ever be a full-time vegan I just love gelato and cheese too much.  So this isn’t a shift to that but I think we can all do with the occasional challenge and giving the planet a bit of a break some times.

Any advice on favourite vegan meals or other resources would be gratefully appreciated.  This week is for preparing and eating the eggs that are left in the fridge (waste is worse).  If you want to join in that would be great too.  Even if it is for a week?  I haven’t been able to convince my sugar-free buddy yet but maybe I still can.

3 Responses to “Vegan June anyone?”

  1. Marianne 20 May 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Going vegan for a period is something I would love to try as well. I am going on holiday the two first weeks in June though, so would probably want to wait until after that. (As I am quite the gelato fan myself, and a summer holiday without it sounds quire horrible) If you do start now, I will definitely be checking in for recipes.

  2. Siobhan Watts (@siobhanwatts) 21 May 2012 at 7:13 am #

    That’s great news! I find things like porridge, marmite toast (for b12), yoghurt and fruit, veggie bacon and avocado are good for breakfast. Soup is a favourite of mine for lunch/dinner – lentil, butternut squash, sweet potato etc. Chickpea curries, chilli and thai curries are great dinners too. Veggie meat is good for those times you fancy a different texture, but better to pack your dinner full of beans and veg. I always keep Linda McCartney sausages and Morrison’s bean burgers in the freezer for when I can’t be bothered to cook. Trek bars are also vegan and delicious!

    Let me know if you need any more tips on vegan things. Good luck!

  3. myschoolhouserocks 22 May 2012 at 3:20 am #

    Sounds like plan!

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.

