Some baking after all

21 Apr

So I did get up to a little baking this week, really just to use up some softening bananas before we went away.  I made some oat banana muffins.

Oatmeal banana muffins

Adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1/3 cup wholewheat flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup milled flaxseed
  • 1 cup uncooked large oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • cinnamon (I just tipped some in)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 medium bananas
  • 2/3 cup fat-free natural yoghurt
  • 2 medium eggs
  • slivered almonds (optional)

Instructions

  1. preheat oven to 180°C
  2. combine all the dry ingredients
  3. combine all the wet ingredients
  4. add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir
  5. separate into oiled muffin tray
  6. top with almonds if including
  7. cook for about 20 minutes

I made 11 rather large muffins

Spring Panzanella

Also this week I made a spring panzanella inspired by Heidi Swanson’s recipe on 101 cookbooks.  I had some leeks, new season purple and green asparagus tips, courgette and peas with some old spelt bread which was absolutely delicious.  And super quick for a week day meal.

I’ll be back writing in Tuesday.  I hope your Easter weekend is happy and sunny.

One Response to “Some baking after all”

  1. willmcf 2 May 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Looks yummy Chelle. For a variation on the Panzanella, check out Jamie’s recipe. I made it the other day from the book but also found it online, soooo yummy. Like the author, I also used other ingredients as I can’t afford that much asparagus! Used courgettes and broccoli, and didn’t bother with broad beans. Only one ingredient you’ll need to substitute (anchovies, maybe just add more salt or hard cheese?!)

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.