Muddle

18 Apr

Why is it that I always have a mental list of about 1000 things to do on the weekend and I only ever seem to get about one or two things actually done!  Do you think it is possible to give up sleep so there can be more time in the day?

Anyway I did get around to buying masses of fabric (online) so I am going to shortly start making a quilt.  I also got some other bits and pieces which I am going to experiment with.

This is one of the fabrics I got for the quilt (super cute):

I still want to buy some yellow fabric for my dream skirt and some jersey material to make a maxi dress for the summer.  As this seems to be fast approaching in ol’ England I better get a move on these.  For the maxi dress I really wanted to make something in navy but I can’t find an ethical fabric in navy, so it is between a mauve or olive bamboo jersey that I have found on Ray Stitch.  Not perfect credentials but better than none – no?  Any thoughts?

On anther note, just as a warning, some of my standard weekly posts aren’t going to be happening and posts generally will likely be a bit sporadic in the next few weeks as I am going away for two long weekends! Yes I am aware that I am super lucky.

Because I haven’t baked or cooked in the last week I thought I would highlight some things that I have my eye on:

  • Firstly, would love to get my hands on Heidi Swanson’s new cookbook Super Natural Everyday
  • Because I am away over Easter I won’t get a chance to do any Easter baking but I think I am going to keep these Hot Cross Biscuits filed away in my brain for next year.
  • Also healthy eating is really really going to be maintained this time and I am interested to try it as a couple healthy cereal options with quinoa.  Two breakfast recipes which have grabbed my fancy are this coconut and mango one from Joy the Baker and this one with millet from My New Roots.

If you have never cooked quinoa before here is a great little video from My New Roots on how to cook it:

3 Responses to “Muddle”

  1. siobhan 18 April 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    enjoy your bank holiday weekends! x

  2. Catherine 19 April 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    that fabric is soo sweet!! xo

    • Michelle Y 19 April 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I love it too. Only problem is it arrived today and it is brown and not black as I thought so doesn’t really go with my grey coloured quilt idea. Will need to think of another use for it though.

Here is your chance to say something lovely or interesting or wise. Please do, I love hearing from you.